So it’s not a 2/2 because morph hasn’t been established. And based on the card text, simply targeting the card isn’t enough to reveal the creature. I think 0/1 makes the most logical sense, but that is making assumptions.
Maybe go with “undefined”, and once it’s exiled by plow you can gain life equal to the exiled creatures power?
Flashback only works if it is granted flashback after the jailer came onto the battlefield, cabal therapy doesn't work with jailer on the field. But casting recoup on one after jailer is in play, would let you flash it back for B.
@dr-j "Playing" is a more generic term that is used when the card you're referring to could be a land. By using "play" here, the Temporal Aperture allows you to cast the spell on top or play the land on top.
601.1a. Some effects still refer to "playing" a card. "Playing a card" means playing that card as a land or casting that card as a spell, whichever is appropriate.
@fsecco, yes you can describe the card such that it is no longer ambiguous if you don't know or can't remember the name.
A card is considered named in game when a player has provided a description (which may include the name or partial name) that could only apply to one card. Any player or judge realizing a description is still ambiguous must seek further clarification.
@aaron-patten np. About 7/10 it's my mistake anyway. I was honestly asking, because for the life of me I couldn't figure out what I was missing there. Thanks for answering the original question though. I've been wondering the same thing, especially in relation to Damping and Energy Flux getting run against Shops at the same time.
L1 Judge here. If I were called to the situation you described in your first post, I’d rule that player B’s explanation is correct: Player A putting their Gisela in the graveyard indicates that they chose to apply the damage doubling effect first, which is a legal choice for them to make. Player B’s choice of applying the damage reduction effect first is also legal, so there’s nothing to do here: Player A’s Gisela is dead, Player B’s Gisela is alive, and they can continue with the game.
Note that it doesn’t matter whether Player A knew that they could choose in which order they apply the replacement effects. Player B gets an advantage for having a superior knowledge of the rules, but that’s how competitive Magic works.
@chubbyrain Gotcha. That was primarily my question. I knew tezzerator was under "big blue" but wasn't sure exactly what blue control was. Is it just more like blue tempo decks like landstill? What is delver? Blue aggro? These are all different styles, much like I wouldn't lump ravager/smokestack as both "shop" decks. The names just aren't very descriptive. Mud/prison shops and aggro shops basically describe what the deck does in the name. Big blue I assume is a blue draw/counter shell that wins with one "big" play, so that makes sense. Blue control was nondescript. I assume that is any blue deck that tries to gain counterspell advantage and win with small threats over many turns? Would delver be in that boat?
@benjamin_berry if it was to cover whitening that usually cannot be removed in full, because the white areas are exposed and the sharpie likely bleed into them. You can remove excess Sharpie, but its stil going to be on there.
Also, on some cards in the past you can remove sharpie with more sharpie or a dry erase marker, you just go back over the affected areas and wipe as you go, but it does not work on every card depending on the printing and sometimes game. We used to do this on the warlord CCG, where the judges would mark your entry card to show it was used with sharpie.
@dstinct I was fascinated by this question so I asked a judge friend of mine, and it looks like you're right. All cards have a flipped/unflipped state regardless of whether or not they have a "flipside". If you Mirror a flippable, and then flip the card, the Mirror stays flipped until some other effect says it isn't (and I don't know that there are any such effects in the game). The next time you copy a flipped card, you'll use the "flipside characteristics"