Depths UB primer

• Standing Depths

Before I write this thing, I want to make the reader aware of, that I’m not a dedicated ”standstill player” I love the dark depths combo more than any other combo in magic and I think that for many years it has been a very underestimated combo. I’ve learned through the years, that Dark depths isn’t just something you jam into an already existing deck and hope to draw it from times to times and save you.

History, I started with the combo in Mishra’s Workshop oriented deck, first at a Bazaar of Moxen which went pretty bad, tweaking and tuning the deck, when I started playing mtg online, I had a lot of practice with it against different archetypes, and I made a top 8 in a premier event with 90+ players. Before the restriction of Lodestone Golem happened I was already working on making a blue version of deck, I wanted more protection for my Marit Lage token against all the removal, specially swords to plowshares and path to exile. I wanted to be able to play force of will, to have more answers when being on the draw, so I developed Standstill Depths, which I played also at Prague Eternal and made top 8 with it. Below here I have put some links to some of the lists, that have been stored on different sites, on top you will see a BUG version tuned by Efro in his final against Shuhei Nakamura. It’s obvious that he went with the green splash for abrupt decay because he knew the chance of Shuhei being on Oath. I have several other 4-0 & 3-1 finishes in the daily event with both BU and UW version, but unfortunately not all data is kept.

Sample Lists

Eric Froehlichs version in VSL:
    http://mtgtop8.com/event?e=13403&d=278622&f=VI
    20/11/15
    http://mtgtop8.com/event?e=10958&d=262393&f=VI
    08/02/16
    http://mtgtop8.com/event?e=11518&d=265530&f=VI
    01/04/16 (white version)
    http://mtgpulse.com/event/24052#326442
    27/08/16 vintage premier top 16
    http://mtgpulse.com/event/25745#341722