April 24th, 2017 Banned and Restricted update: GUSH AND PROBE/TOP in Legacy

• Administrators

@MSolymossy can you REALLY not find a better argument for why the card is worse than Probe? I don't think Peek is any good either, but "dogshit banana" isn't convincing anyone.

• TMD Supporter

@Brass-Man said in April 24th, 2017 Banned and Restricted update: GUSH AND PROBE/TOP in Legacy:

@MSolymossy can you REALLY not find a better argument for why the card is worse than Probe? I don't think Peek is any good either, but "dogshit banana" isn't convincing anyone.

It's making me oddly hungry though.

• o no @MSolymossy said I don't understand phyrexian mana, what's my life going to be now?

I think we should all calm down and play Portent, the unrestricted Ponder.

• Disappointed. I'm relatively new to the format, so maybe it's just my lack of experience, but it certainly seemed to me like Mentor was the problem, if there was one, in the Mentor deck. Restricting Gush and Probe changes the engine, but I'm not sure how convinced I am that it'll meaningfully change the metagame from "Monastery Mentor decks facing down their main predator, Workshop decks" into something else.

In general I haven't been a fan of the anti-Phyrexian mana arguments I've seen presented, but I don't have an emotional attachment to Probe either. A restriction seemed unnecessary, but I can't exactly get riled up about it.

As for Legacy...I'm not a fan of hitting Top, but if you're hitting a card from Miracles then hitting the card that causes time problems is probably the way to go, I guess. I used to really enjoy Miracles before I switched off to BUG a few years ago, and I'm sad to see it go, but I'm probably pretty lonely in that regard.

Overall I find myself lacking enthusiasm or anger toward this update, just a mildly disappointed malaise.

• @MSolymossy Peek is instant. Boom.

@fsecco Portent looks surprisingly not terrible, huh.

• Maybe gifts ungiven back?

• TMD Supporter