Navigation

    The Mana Drain

    • Register
    • Login
    • Search
    • Strategy
    • Community
    • Tournaments
    • Recent

    As Foretold rules clarification

    Rules QnA
    10
    32
    29147
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • John Cox
      John Cox last edited by

      I'm curious about [[Hollow One]]'s cost reduction now.

      H. 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • H.
        H. @John Cox last edited by

        @John-Cox In regards to what? How it would work with Trinisphere?

        "The Ancients teach us that if we can but last, we shall prevail."
        —Kaysa, Elder Druid of the Juniper Order

        K John Cox 2 Replies Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • K
          Khahan @H. last edited by

          @H. said in As Foretold rules clarification:

          @John-Cox In regards to what? How it would work with Trinisphere?

          You would have to pay at least 3.

          H. 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • H.
            H. @Khahan last edited by

            @Khahan right, I was just trying to understand what he was getting at.

            "The Ancients teach us that if we can but last, we shall prevail."
            —Kaysa, Elder Druid of the Juniper Order

            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • John Cox
              John Cox @H. last edited by

              @H. just wondering if it would function like delve spells around [[Sphere of Resistance]]/[[Trinisphere]].

              DBatterskull 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • DBatterskull
                DBatterskull @John Cox last edited by DBatterskull

                @John-Cox It depends on which Sphere. For Sphere of Resistance, both both the Sphere and Hollow One's effect apply in the phase of casting a spell where you figure out and pay alternate/additional costs (Rule 601.2b and Rule 601.2f). So for example, if you discarded/cycled one card and there's one Sphere, it would cost 4. If you discarded three cards and there are three Spheres it would cost 2, and so on.

                Trinisphere is a little different. It checks after additional/alternate costs and always makes sure you're paying 3 (Rule 601.2f again). So no matter how many cards you've discarded/cycled, Hollow One always costs 3 in the face of a Trinisphere. Hope that helps!

                Source - Being a L2 Judge

                John Cox ? 2 Replies Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • John Cox
                  John Cox @DBatterskull last edited by

                  @DBatterskull
                  Thanks, thats exactly what I was trying to figure out.

                  DBatterskull 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • DBatterskull
                    DBatterskull @John Cox last edited by

                    @John-Cox No problem! Always happy to help

                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                    • ?
                      A Former User @DBatterskull last edited by A Former User

                      @DBatterskull said in As Foretold rules clarification:

                      If you discarded six cards and there are three Spheres it would cost 3, and so on.
                      Source - Being a L2 Judge

                      Is it really how that works? I mean, I always thought that in order to determine the cost of a card you'd first count cost increases then cost reduction. So Hollow One would cost 5 + 3 (three spheres) = 8. Then if you discarded 6 cards it would reduce its cost in 12, making it cost zero. Is it not like that?

                      H. DBatterskull 2 Replies Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • H.
                        H. @Guest last edited by H.

                        @fsecco well, I am not a judge, but I think you are correct, because 601.2b does not seem to apply to Hallow One, as far as I can tell.

                        "The Ancients teach us that if we can but last, we shall prevail."
                        —Kaysa, Elder Druid of the Juniper Order

                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • DBatterskull
                          DBatterskull @Guest last edited by DBatterskull

                          @fsecco Yes, you're right. I made a typo (meant to say reduced by six, but somehow I typed six cards). Whoops. Edited for clarity. Thank you for pointing that out!

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                          • First post
                            Last post