Building Mentor based Control

• I'm fairly new to Vintage and after beating around the bush with other decks I'm dipping my toes into control decks with Mentor as a primary win condition. Since the recent restruction, how has everyone been building it?

As for individual card choices, are things like Supreme Verdict and Sudden Shock still good? As for Counter choices, Draw spell selection and other Threats (i.e. Chandra, Tendrils etc.), what causes you to play those specific ones?

• My favorite resource for the answers to your questions is MTGGoldfish, which aggregates WotC's data almost in a way that makes sense and allows you to see trends. Vintage can be found here: https://www.mtggoldfish.com/metagame/vintage

Beyond that, my advice is don't take deck titles for their word. Just because something is called Nahiri Control or Mystic Mentor doesn't necessarily mean is doesn't or does have Monastery Mentor in the deck, respectively. Data aggregators aren't perfect, especially for a format that doesn't have much data to aggregate.

• mtgtop8 is vastly superior if you want data about the vintage metagame and decklists. They have more tourneys, a longer history, a better ability to sort, a much better layout in my opinion (absent the pretty pretty pictures), and gives you better ways to cross reference data - giving breakdowns on deck type, and card usage within various formats, as well as how long ago the deck was played.

Mtggoldfish is much more useful in my opinion, if you are into the trading side of the game. It aggregates a lot of data about card price histories. You can put your entire collection in there and watch the "stocks" rise and fall. They also run strategy articles such as vintage101 by our very own @Islandswamp , so both have their place.

• Administrators

Here's my list at the moment:

I'm still changing a slot or two around each event, but it doesn't deviate much from this.