Proxy Guidelines for newbie to paper Vintage

• Hey all. I'm thinking of playing my first-ever Vintage tournament in paper form this weekend at Eternal Extravaganza. The only way I can even play Vintage in paper is via the 15-proxy rule, but I've never used proxies in Magic before (being a Legacy/Modern player primarily).

Does anyone have any good guidelines as to how to make proxies for Vintage? Specifically, I need to proxy the Moxen, a Black Lotus, and Mishra's Workshops. I was thinking of using the C14 cycle of "Diamonds" to represent the Moxen, a Lotus Bloom to represent the Black Lotus, and something like Mishra's Toy Workshop for the Workshops. Would this be fine? And would it be adequate just to write the actual functioning of each card I'm proxying in black marker on top of the card itself? I.e. for the Lotus Bloom->Black Lotus I would draw a "0" in the casting cost box, and black out the "suspend" text and leave only the "T: Add 3 of any color" text, and write "Black Lotus" over the "Lotus Bloom" name. Is this the way to do it easily and properly?

And is it possible to use a foil promo card like Mishra's Toy Workshop as a Workshop proxy or would the silver border/foiling be problematic? What is the best card to use as a good proxy for Mishra's Workshop?

• @pathym You should read the rules of the tournament. There are a lot of tournaments that have strict rules regarding proxies (a few allow only basic lands with sharpie written on it).

And don't ruin real cards for that (specially good cards like Lotus Bloom). If they allow cards like that as proxy, I wonder if a Perfect Size shield with sharpie text written on it instead of written on the card isn't better - actually I'm not sure perfect sizes would be allowed as proxyes, but I don't see any compelling reason not to...