Grixis Painter

• So I've been working on this list more and more over the years and am trying to figure out how tune the deck a little more towards the newer meta post-thorn ban. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

• @nasfer few things. I don't claim to be an expert in this by any stretch but I've been working with my own painters list recently.

Have you tried running Bobs? I think he has great synergy with the deck. I'm not running the heavy delve spells but running 4 of him and he offers another early threat to the board that does really well at providing advantage.

Daretti Ingenious Iconoclast can also add a good axis. He is a little slow sometimes but lets you point your artifacts at big threats if need be and on occasion just provides some fodder blockers.

I'm also a big fan of welder ( yes I understand the card mental misstep is a thing) but when he's in play he offers the deck a lot of synergy with the graveyard and allows some different lines. Especially if you want to run such a heavy thirst package. Also, the deck doesn't live and die on him so you can afford it if he gets countered.

Also a big fan of mana confluence and urborg in my list. They offer extra utility and variance. You may not need the urborg but I've found it helpful.

Just some thoughts on things I've been having success with.

• Vampiric Tutor is pretty awesome in this list. I use it to go down to 1x Grindstone.

I think conventional restricted blue + preordain are better than Bob, since you don't really want to play the long-damage game against the decks where Bob is good. Also you want to keep mana up for Blasts instead of tapping out. I'd cut at least 1x TFK to make room for a Paradoxical Outcome to scroll for. I also like Snap>JVP in order to use Blasts as counterspells the 2nd time.

• @poxeveryturn Thanks for the feedback!