Top 4 with Gifts at Gamingetc 12/9/17

• A technical top 4…the best kind of top 4!

The snow was coming down hard by the early morning, but I didn’t let that stop me from brushing off my car and driving to Acton in order to play in a vintage event for the first time in months. Pandemonium in Cambridge had long since dropped weekly vintage off of their event schedule, I finished my masters last spring, got married this past summer, and I had been juggling work with phd applications this fall. All of which had left me little time and few opportunities to play. So I was not about to let a silly little snowstorm spoil my fun.

I had been trying to get a welder list ready for weeks, but finally faced the facts that the entire meta is hostile to the little guy. Between Control Slaver with maindeck Cavern of Souls plus Daretti, Scrap Savant and a fun brew with Bazaar, Squee, and Possessed Portal (basically Cerebral Assassin minus Worldgorger), I tried just about everything. But Misstep, Ballista, Revoker, and Oath all make the player trying to relive 2005 sad, so I went with another mid-2000s favorite—Gifts Ungiven. Here’s what I sleeved up after weeks of jamming on xmage: