MTGO

• I am relatively new to MTGO and I am ready to sell everything but Pauper and quit Vintage on MTGO. I already quit Legacy after a month and I am not having fun or learning anything from MTGO for Vintage.

My question to the community is how do I turn this around. I love Magic and I play several formats. I know that I have said that I hate Legacy but I still play it because I love Magic.

I have found Pauper enjoyable because to be honest I do not take it very serious. I just play whatever I want and I do not care what happens.

I am a very serious Vintage player and I tend to do fairly well in paper. I placed 3rd in the last event that I played in last month with about 16 or so players. I came in 3rd in a Vintage trail back in September with the same deck.

I have played in several paper events and I tend to usually make top 8 when I am playing seriously.

On MTGO, I am stuck with 3-2 or 2-3 records in the league and my practice matches are a joke. I am either playing against junk decks or playing against cookie cutter crap that I cannot take seriously.

I am not learning anything in MTGO. I know the rules of Magic very well. I was considering becoming a judge at one point and I know the flow of the game.

Is MTGO just not my thing? So many players here swear by it. So what am I doing wrong?

I really want to get to the next level and I play test every week with my brother. We cycle through all of the tier 1 decks with our decks. I regularly tune my deck and check match results to make sure that I know the meta-game.

• @moorebrother1

I believe that on average, the MTGO playerbase is of a higher skill level than in paper. This could account for the discrepancy between your paper and online results.

I experienced the same when I joined MTGO a few months ago. My win rate was terrible compared to my experience in paper.

But I've also learned a lot and improved measurably since then. There are several reasons for this.