SCG Con - Tournament Report from a First Time Paper Player (Sunny Dredge in 40th)

• Posting this here as well, hopefully I will be able to post it to a wider audience if possible soon.

Howdy folks! My name is Joe Dyer, and I am a Vintage/Legacy content creator currently working for Cardsphere.com / PucaTrade / StrictlyAverageMTG.com, and I'm here today to talk about my experience playing in the SCG Con Power 9 Series Vintage event.

I am relatively new to playing the Vintage format. My love affair with the format began over the past few years as I solidified myself in playing the Legacy format competitively, but there was just something about playing Vintage that spoke to me. I had dabbled a tiny bit in the format, but nothing truly major. Last year I had decided to work on getting into Vintage through the use of Magic Online, buying into a deck that I had seen on camera via Eternal Extravaganza 7: Sunny Dredge.

I had started Legacy on Dredge before moving to the deck I currently play (Nic Fit), and Dredge in Vintage naturally appealed to my wish to do broken things with the graveyard. So, with some help here or there, I bought into Sunny Dredge on Magic Online.

As I started playing Leagues on the deck, I found I really enjoyed the high variance and the fun things that naturally occur in the format. When StarCityGames announced that they were going to be returning the Power 9 Series to SCG Con, an idea stuck in my head. What if I could figure out a way to play Vintage at this event?