Tips for playing Necropotence efficiently on MTGO?

• TMD Supporter

I wasn't sure where to put this as it isn't really a strategy question. I am brand new to Vintage on MTGO. I think I've figured out most of the shortcuts and mechanics, but I got stymied using Necropotence.

Setting aside cards was easy enough, but when I got to the discard and cleanup phase after over necroing things fell apart. Different triggers kept popping in the discard and cleanup phases, and weren't automatically stacking, even though I have it set to stack triggers automatically. And I couldn't figure out how to yield to the discard triggers, or even where I was supposed to click to process the triggers. Basically I burned up seemingly infinite time, and at one point accidentally necroed to death under time pressure.

I was also confused why the cards I discarded with necro in play were placed underneath Necropotence. Are these cards not in the exile zone? It also cluttered the board, which was annoying. I don't suppose there's a way to turn this feature off?

Would anyone be kind enough to provide a remedial step-by-step explanation of how to use necro efficiently on MTGO, and what if any shortcuts I can set to make things go quickly?

Thanks in advance!

P.S. Note, I am only asking about MTGO mechanics; I have been playing Necropotence for nearly two decade without incident in paper magic.

• I think the issues with autostacking and autoyield have to do with the fact that it's the cleanup step. I've noticed this with Necro also, and it's even more annoying in a multiplayer EDH game where each person has to pass priority.

• TMD Supporter

In paper magic the rules have been changed so that cards that exile another card, like oblivion ring, place the exiled cards underneath them as to remind players what cards exiled specific cards. I don't remember necro placing cards underneath itself until after that rule went into effect, so I'm pretty sure that's what is happening.