Discard spells

• I know the format has moved away from playing discard spells. They are heavily played in Modern and Legacy. They once were a staple in Vintage as well.

There cards were always horrible against Dredge but they were good against control and somewhat good against aggro. With Mental Misstep no one plays them and everyone assumes that they are bad against the tier 1 decks.

How do we change that? I do not want or need to go down a B&R rabbit hole here. So, if your answer is restrict Misstep then we know it is not an answer.

Would the answer be to play a lot of them? Or play Misstep with them? Or play mass discard like Mind Twist? Thoughts?

• I am not an expert but, because of the high power level of vintage cards, could it be that making 1 for 1, in ritual and not knowing what you may find in opponent hand, is not good enough for a vintage control deck ? Counterspells sound better as some are free (or sort of) and can be played with more information. I mean discard might not be broken enough for modern vintage ?

• @moorebrother1 I’ve tried to play Twist and Hymn some, the problem is you have to back them up with Leo or Notion Thief or it likely won’t matter since most decks play some combination of explosive draw spells (jeskai, PO) or don’t care if their hand goes away (Shops, Dredge, Survival)

• There are a lot of problems with discard effects. They're terrible in topdeck wars (and Vintage attrition usually leads to topdeck wars), they put you behind in tempo (you're spending mana to deal with a threat your opponent spent no mana in) and usually can't break sinergies in Vintage, since this is such a 1-of format.
    So if you spend 2 mana for a Hymn, man you're getting yourself 2 mana behind in the tempo war to deal with stuff that might not even be relevant.