How did you start playing Vintage?

• I guess we all started somewhere and not all of us started with channel/fireball so I was wondering how did you start playing this format?
    I can understand that those who play over 20 years (me) find it rather natural to play Vintage but that's probably not the case for all of the members here. So I wonder if there is even someone who came to Vintage from the other side ... via non-eternal formats.
    So what is your story?

• I'm one of those who started around 1994. I was buying Revised, Antiquities, and Legends boosters when I started playing, so Vintage comes naturally.

Could've bought more Unlimited, but it was like, twice as expensive as Revised. LOL SUCKERS

• I originally started playing Magic around Tempest when some of the older kids in the neighborhood introuduced everyone to it. I got back in when a friend opened a game store. I got into Vintage at the first standard rotation I experienced, annoyed that I needed to replace all my cards.

The store owner was building a vintage deck, which was quite a feat compared to the waiter's wages I was making at the time. 10 proxy was still something that was viable for most people to build. When SCG still covered eternal on the free side, I saw 5 color Staxx (I looked and I can't find the article or list) and I loved it. I built the deck with proxied power and workshops and even pimped some of the deck out.

• I started playing Magic by buying boosters of Revised back in 1994. There was only one shop in town that sold Magic, and I was in Middle School. My parents hated taking me anywhere, and I didn't have much money as a kid, so I didn't get out to buy much of it. Probably half of my revised packs came from friends and birthdays.