alt text

Looks like the Modern Horizons spoiler season has begun. I am not sure how best to evaluate this card. Obviously this does a great Force of Will impersonation which will be Modern legal and will probably see play there, but I am no expert on Modern. However, does it have applications in Vintage?

The fact that it's easier to hard-cast is something, but only being usable on your opponent's turn reduces the card to a purely defensive one. Then again, we've had decks in the past that have loaded up on Pitch counters beyond the 4 Force of Wills (such as Landstill) where this could see use.

Thoughts? This is definitely an interesting and clever printing by Wizards. Personally wish this didn't have the non-creature clause though...

last edited by Hrishi

Combines Force of Will and Negate.

Card works as advertised.

Yeah, I just see this as too narrow to be played maindeck in Vintage. Maybe as a one-of. You can only have a certain critical mass of pitch counters before you just lose the card advantage equation; especially if we're talking from a mostly defensive position.

Could have a home in the sideboard... I guess it also helps push through your Ancestral in opponent's upkeep.

My post on twitter was that I thought a Mental Misstep restriction was a lot more reasonable now. This is the type of card that stops combo and broken turn 1's without feeling like it oppresses more fair decks and it has more consistency than MBT and Fluster. The opponent can't turn 1 a Duress, take Force, and play around this like the previous two.

There is some concern that PO can use the spell to protect a PO on the opponent's turn while using this as additional Force of Wills for Narset, Karn, Rod, etc, but we'll see. I definitely like this printing.

The added exile clause is a nice bonus given the sheer power level of individual cards. Dunno if that'll matter for much, but it's there.