I don't believe it removes existing +1/+1 counters

@griselbrother it doesn't kill any ravagers or ballistas that already exist, but will kill all future ones played. same effect as Solemnity.

@blindtherapy said in [M20] Blightbeetle:

@griselbrother it doesn't kill any ravagers or ballistas that already exist, but will kill all future ones played. same effect as Solemnity.

Well, the wording is different, hence my confusion. Solemnity says "can't get counters", whereas this one says "can't have counters". It would make the most sense if all counters are removed, I think.

last edited by Griselbrother

Creatures can't have counters put on them

@ajfirecracker said in [M20] Blightbeetle:

Creatures can't have counters put on them

Ah, yeah, I somehow missed that. No wonder I found the wording weird, lol.

last edited by Griselbrother

I'm pretty sure with this play, a ravager still comes in as a 0/0 with a 1/1 counter on it. We'll have to wait for the official ruling but it seems very similar to situations I would run into with Ravnica Allegiance Drafts playing riot cards with simic ascendancy. Since riot creatures enter the battlefield with the 1/1 counter on them, they wouldn't trigger simic ascendancy.

@khahan someone gave you a bad ruling in draft

"An ability that triggers when counters are put on a permanent will trigger if that permanent somehow enters the battlefield with those counters.
(2019-01-25)"

This isn't a triggered ability but I believe it does in fact prevent creatures from entering with +1/+1 counters

Rule 121.6.

Some spells and abilities refer to counters being put on an object. This refers to putting counters
on that object while it’s on the battlefield and also to an object that’s given counters as it enters the
battlefield.

@blindtherapy said in [M20] Blightbeetle:

@khahan someone gave you a bad ruling in draft

"An ability that triggers when counters are put on a permanent will trigger if that permanent somehow enters the battlefield with those counters.
(2019-01-25)"

Good to know.

@ajfirecracker yeah, I was specifically taking the note from simic ascendancy since it was his example.

last edited by BlindTherapy
  • 17
    Posts
  • 1709
    Views