April Vintage Challenge Top 8 Mini-Report: Academy

• Hey there everyone. So I posted briefly in the tournament results section that I top 8'd and finally got around to writing a short report of the event (rounds that had replays at least). This is a copy paste job from my longer more legacy focused report on the source. If you are interested in that here is a link to the entire thing.

http://www.mtgthesource.com/forums/showthread.php?30682-Shortcake-Maketh-Man-Double-Eternal-Challenge-Top-8

Otherwise, enjoy this snippet. I look forward to jamming vintage way more and will be attending the NYSE. Lastly, if anyone remembers anything from the earlier matches or later ones feel free to chime in. I'm a vintage noob so anything is welcome.

... (legacy part of the report)

VINTAGE

Anyways that was pretty long but it’s about to get longer with this free-value Vintage Top 8 report.

I first got into Vintage back around the holidays last year, and was browsing random lists for something that fit my playstyle. I was initially considering 5c Welder shops, then perfect storm, before I stumbled onto a Blue/Red wheel dropping bombs style deck that ran welder by Onkel. It was like a hybrid between belcher and dack thieves and I knew I would love how explosive it was. I sold a ton of chaff in my collection and got the power and forces and stuff and messed around with the list to end up here:

Lands:
    2 Volcanic fetch
    3 Volcanic Island
    4 Seat of the Synod
    1 Tolarian Academy
    1 Minamo, School at Water's Edge

Artifact Mana:
    1 Lotus
    5 Mox
    1 Mana Crypt
    1 Mana Vault
    1 Sol Ring
    2 Mox Opal
    1 Chrome Mox

Card Draw:
    4 Gitaxian Probe
    4 Thoughtcast
    2 Thirst for Knowledge
    1 Ancestral Recall

Wheels:
    1 Timetwister
    1 Wheel of Fortune
    1 Time Spiral
    1 Memory Jar

Other Blue Shit:
    1 Time Walk
    1 Hurkyl's Recall
    1 Tinker
    1 Transmute artifact

Artifacts:
    4 Expedition Map
    2 Voltaic Key