NYSE Open IV - Delver Report

• NYSE IV was a blast. I'd like to thank Nick Detwiler and all those that made this possible. I don't often write tournament reports because I play the fairest deck in the format, which often means going to game 3 and not having all that much time to take notes. I did my best to track each of my matches for this tournament. Skip the following two paragraphs if you're not interested in some history.

I picked up Magic cards from my Massachusetts cousins in my grandmother's house during Thanksgiving when Fallen Empires was released at age nine. I was instantly hooked. It was never about the fantasy for me; it was the math, strategy and deckbuilding. I almost exclusively played standard and was able to rack up a couple of Junior Super Series wins at Neutral Ground which won me entry to Junior Nationals. I did not cast a blue spell in constructed until Odyssey came out (six years of play). I liked Stompy, Sui Black, White Weenie and Burn. At 16, I graduated from the Junior tournaments and found the competition was tough. I picked up Vintage for a year and back then there were no proxies. I played Burn, which was not a Vintage deck, at all. It was an Extended deck. I have a knack for making myself the underdog. I like to dig myself a hole and climb out of it. I'm a masochist of sorts. I did pretty well, but decided to take a nine year break and invest more in normal high school things, like: alcohol, girls and alcohol. Nick Detwiler, Greg Fenton and myself went to high school together. They were the “normal” ones within the Magic community. There was quite a cast of characters that made for great stories, but I digress. So I sold my Mox Ruby to Nick Detwiler and took my hiatus (detailed here): http://originalmagicart.com/the-return-of-superman/. This was my last Vintage Burn deck in 2003.

16 Mountain
    1 Strip Mine
    4 Wasteland

4 Goblin Cadets
    4 Gorilla Shaman
    4 Jackal Pup
    4 Chain Lightning
    3 Fireblast
    1 Fork