Mindless Automaton in Shops

• So, in these Ravager/Hangarback times, where I see people playing multiple Triskelions in Shops, what do you guys think of 1 -2 Mindless Automaton?

I mean, it can turn redundant lands, etc, into more cards and can also trade Ravager's +1/+1 counters for a lot of cards. I think it could be a realiable card in lists with 4 Ravager, 3 Hangarback floating around. I could see it playing 3 Triskelion/1 Automaton instead of the 4 Trike I've been seeing.

For those who don't remember what it does:
    alt text

• TMD Supporter

It seems a little win-more perhaps. Plus it is kind of slow. I'm not an expert on Shops, but in my experience you just want to get people dead as fast as you can. Also, it does almost nothing by itself, and that's a real turn off.

• Steel overseer is a vintage playable card, IMO.

Anyway, mindless automaton is cute but bad. It's awful by itself, and it doesn't really do what an Agro shops list wants to do, which is attack and prison.

If Wizards printed a XX casting cost mindless automaton, ala hangarback Walker, I'd test it because it would be scalable. But id still have doubts that it would be vintage playable.

• Seems ok as a singleton. I mean 4 mana cycle is the worst case. Generally though 2 damage in these decks is going to be way better than 1 card.

• My point is that it can grow way bigger, cycling redundant lands and getting counters from Ravager/Hangarback like Triskelion does. I mean Trike is awesome by itself, but it's being played right now because of the interaction with Ravager.
    I just have a feeling this guy could be worthwhile as a 1, 2-of.

@gkraigher I agree, if Automaton was scalable it would be way better. But since he would be bad to cast for 2 mana/1 counter, I believe 4 mana/2 counters is ok.