Deck Discussion: Burning Tendrils

• Glad to see TMD back! I figured I start a deck discussion thread for my favorite vintage deck, burning tendrils. I'm an online vintage convert but have listened to Steve and Kevin's podcast long before the format was available online and was always fascinated with this mish-mash of burning long and oath.

The deck is not currently popular and I think it suffers from fairly severe consistency issues but I still have a blast playing it. I'm not a vintage expert so I won't really speculate on what the deck needs to be competitive at a high-level however I do think it is perfect for "casual" vintage play online or in paper.

Here are a few sample decklists I've played that are heavily influenced by Steve Menendian and his burning tendrils bible which was a huge help to me when first starting out with the format. The first is a fairly standard list with duress and some missteps for protection while the second is configured to play force of will and misdirection. I personally prefer versions like the first list that are explosive and force the opponent to answer a series of powerful plays rather than trying to protect my own.

Burning Tendrils
    2 Griselbrand

1 Black Lotus
    1 Chrome Mox
    1 Lion's Eye Diamond
    1 Lotus Petal
    1 Mana Crypt
    1 Mana Vault
    1 Mox Emerald
    1 Mox Jet
    1 Mox Pearl
    1 Mox Ruby
    1 Mox Sapphire
    1 Ancestral Recall
    1 Brainstorm
    4 Dark Ritual
    4 Duress
    1 Mana Vault
    2 Mental Misstep
    1 Ponder
    1 Sol Ring
    1 Vampiric Tutor
    4 Burning Wish
    1 Demonic Tutor
    2 Hurkyl's Recall
    4 Oath of Druids
    1 Time Walk
    1 Necropotence
    1 Timetwister
    1 Tinker
    1 Wheel of Fortune
    1 Windfall
    1 Empty the Warrens
    1 Memory Jar
    1 Yawgmoth's Bargain

2 City of Brass
    4 Forbidden Orchard
    1 Gemstone Mine
    3 Mana Confluence
    1 Tolarian Academy

SB
    3 Ancient Tomb
    2 Nature's Claim
    1 Shattering Spree