...GarbageAggro, who seems to be new to the forum.
I chuckled at this.
He's been around for quite awhile.
Sure was a fun event. Red bull was in fact used extensively during the "Yangtime" Top8 announcement. Malort was also utilized to keep myself and the other Top8 competitors in a state of constant distress.
Note on one of the pictures above: It's not actually of Kevin vs myself, but of our RD3 match. (See the light outside)
@Smmenen It's entirely likely. The guy from the Shay camera match hadn't played sanctioned mtg since 1994 or so.
Also to comment on the Brainstorm guy, there is no 'theory' to be had about "compensating for vintage" with him.
A simple interview with the parties involved gave the HJ sufficient suspicion to pull the trigger on a cheating DQ.
The action he took was incredibly difficult to explain as anything remotely resembling a mistake.
Edit: I don't necessarily believe what he did was really malicious, but could easily fit the guidelines for a DQ.
- There was a judge call from a bystander regarding a TKS, StP interaction where he would have hidden the drawn card from me prior to my enter play trigger.
Quick side note about this one: it's a legal play for him to hope you miss your detrimental leaves-play TKS trigger, resolve the ETB one, then call a judge to get you a warning for missing a detrimental trigger and to have that trigger put on the stack. It's your responsibility to remember your own triggers, especially the detrimental ones.
Moreover, from what I could tell he was playing a single sleeved deck, which would make foil bending more apparent. A fellow spectator relayed this to the head judge. From what I could tell, the judging staff made Joseph take out his foil sol ring and crucible of worlds, but they waited until after he won against Andy.
If this is true, there is a dangerous lack of logical consistency. If the cards were marked, Joseph should habe received a game loss/DQ (much like people who had marked delvers in Champs two years ago). If they were not marked, he should not have been required to switch out his cards.
This is wrong. It's a warning by default with an upgrade path. See relevant IPG:
IPG 3.8 Tournament Error — Marked Cards Penalty: Warning
The Head Judge has the option to upgrade this penalty to a Game Loss if he or she believes that a player noticing the pattern of markings would clearly compromise the integrity of the game
This is typically only done where you could cut to the desired card consistently. Say, if you had 4 foil Snapcaster Mages that were all Pringles, cutting to a Snapcaster would be trivial. In this case, there was enough variance in the marked cards to make an upgrade questionable.
Looks like your connection to The Mana Drain was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.