Best posts made by hardy
posted in Art and Collecting read more

This is my pile of oldschool cardboard. Still got some white bordered eye sores, but I'm slowly getting there. The Volcanics are altered unlimited. Bought them from a drunk friend because I was drunk.

0_1521645248549_deck_2.jpg

posted in Off-Topic read more

The Stockholm community has put up a site featuring a plethora of sweet oldschool brews along with short descriptions of general game plan for every build.

http://www.wak-wak.se/all-decks

Edit: The credit goes to Gordon Andersson and the Wak-Wak crew. Two of the featured brews are mine, but that's about it.

posted in Vintage News read more

@thecravenone Which somehow reminded me of the time my buddy told me he choose Bazaar of Wonders when he cast Revoker against his Dredge opponent. He won that game and told the guy "You should have probably activated your Bazaar" before he left.

posted in Off-Topic read more

Thank you for an interesting read. Great job!

A card that I feel should be explored more in prison shells is Time Vault. Skipping a turn with a lock in place is essentially free.

posted in Oath read more

@pugsuperstar

You're not cutting a creature in the matchups you bring in Gisela or the dragon. That feels incorrect. I think Muldrotha's out vs. shops and Xerox.

I would probably cut an Island vs. at least dredge.

Maybe @brianpk80 can answer this better, but I think you can cut a number of oaths in the PO matchup.

Depending on the flavour of dredge, I think you can cut 0-2 FoW.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@desolutionist Whenever a creature enters the battlefield this turn, you may draw a card.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

It removes time counters from stuff with Vanishing as well.

Rulings:
If the last time counter is removed from a permanent with vanishing and the sacrifice ability is countered, that permanent will remain in play indefinitely with no time counters on it. Neither of vanishing's two triggered abilities can possibly trigger again. Similarly, if a permanent without time counters on it that's already in play becomes a copy of a permanent with vanishing, it will stay in play indefinitely. If a permanent with one or more time counters on it that's already in play becomes a copy of a permanent with vanishing, it will vanish as normal.

Shouldn't that mean

  • Chronozoa + sac outlet will go infinite.
  • Ravaging Riftwum and Waning Wurm are cheap fatties
  • Lost Auramancers becomes Academy Rector (ish)
posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@walking.dude It's from one of the upcoming commander decks.

posted in Off-Topic read more

I've heard a lot of great stuff about Horizon Zero Dawn.

posted in Vintage News read more

@themonadnomad Yes. Like @thecravenone said, it will no longer ask for a creature type (but you're probably free to say something anyway).

If a nonbasic land has an ability that causes it to enter the battlefield tapped, it lose will that ability before it applies. The same is also true of any other abilities that modify how a land enters the battlefield or apply “as” a land enters the battlefield, such as the first ability of Cavern of Souls. This is a change from previous rulings.

Dropping a CoS under a Blood Moon would be pretty bad unless you really need a Mountain that might turn into a Wastes.

posted in Off-Topic read more

Congratulations!

posted in Vintage News read more

So this means you're no longer allowed to name a creature type when you play caverns under a moon effect.

posted in Art and Collecting read more

@chase_dagger It's to accentuate alpha corners. Plus a lot of people use black sleeves, and accidental theft of your opponents creatures (because Animate Dead) is a real thing. Especially when you've had a couple of beers. A third reason is that beat up edges look more crisp.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@forceofnature I saw this and decided to dust of my math skills.

F(n): Number of copy effects after nth Bonus Round.

  • F(0) = 0
  • F(1) = 1
  • F(2) = 1 + 1 + 1 = 3
  • F(n) = 1 + F(n-1) + F(n-1) = 1 + 2*F(n-1)

Everytime you play BR you get

  • one extra copy effect for the spell: 1
  • one extra copy effect for every previous one: F(n-1)
  • all the previous ones: F(n-1)

Which is a really complicated way of saying playing an instant or sorcery after the nth Bonus Round will put it's effect on the stack 2^n times.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

Copying a Rune-Scarred Demon might have some value. Or something you stole with Dack.