They are not closing down. https://www.mtgsalvation.com/articles/49778-a-new-and-exciting-beginning
@joshuabrooks I like it. I've toyed with the idea of a Vintagy format only allowing old boarder sets but with a higher power level than middleschool/premodern/hyperextended.
I play a couple of different casual formats that have grown to be become quite popular. The key to succeed in creating a community is to start small and grow it organically. You don't need buy-in. Build it and they will come. Or not.
@smmenen Good read! Very cool with a tool that can measure diversity. Seeing is believing.
My only critique of your article would be that it wasn't immediately obvious that you flipped the index. You wrote
Recall that a higher value indicates a more balanced and more diverse metagame, and a lower number indicates a less balanced and less diverse metagame, with .99 being a nearly perfectly balanced and diverse metagame with a plethora of viable decks, and a value closer to 0 being a metagame dominated basically by a single deck.
But for that sentence to make sense, you would have to have read the endnote as you make no mention above of why this changed.
You're not cutting a creature in the matchups you bring in Gisela or the dragon. That feels incorrect. I think Muldrotha's out vs. shops and Xerox.
I would probably cut an Island vs. at least dredge.
Maybe @brianpk80 can answer this better, but I think you can cut a number of oaths in the PO matchup.
Depending on the flavour of dredge, I think you can cut 0-2 FoW.
@forceofnature I saw this and decided to dust of my math skills.
F(n): Number of copy effects after nth Bonus Round.
- F(0) = 0
- F(1) = 1
- F(2) = 1 + 1 + 1 = 3
- F(n) = 1 + F(n-1) + F(n-1) = 1 + 2*F(n-1)
Everytime you play BR you get
- one extra copy effect for the spell: 1
- one extra copy effect for every previous one: F(n-1)
- all the previous ones: F(n-1)
Which is a really complicated way of saying playing an instant or sorcery after the nth Bonus Round will put it's effect on the stack 2^n times.
If a nonbasic land has an ability that causes it to enter the battlefield tapped, it lose will that ability before it applies. The same is also true of any other abilities that modify how a land enters the battlefield or apply “as” a land enters the battlefield, such as the first ability of Cavern of Souls. This is a change from previous rulings.
Dropping a CoS under a Blood Moon would be pretty bad unless you really need a Mountain that might turn into a Wastes.