Website
Location
New York
Joined
Last Online
Recent Posts
posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

Not for nothing but in addition to the bazaar math this card can also get you closer to the single dredge 6 the list still has, which is another value to consider.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

2 gush, fastbond, this is draw your deck right? Not that there is any shortage of ways to do that.

I still think This + Trade Routes + timewalk is the way to go. Maybe add to that a sac outlet as well as Ramunap Excivator?

I mean, if key/vault works with one restricted piece why can't this 🙂

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

I would love to see a taking turns style deck in vintage one of these days, but that is a pipe dream I am sure.

No one would run 4 of these in most lists in most any format, If only because the broken stuff you can do revolves around fetching it and then bouncing and recurring it, but also how many timewalks does one need to take to win?

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@desolutionist said in [ELD] Once Upon a Time:

Isn’t keeping 7 with this better than mulling to 2 with this in pretty much all cases? I don’t think mulling, with the intent of casting this spell, gets you any closer to finding something with it. The top cards of the deck are unknown in all cases.

Depends what your deck is doing. Dredge for instance would always mull a 7 hand with this in it and no Bazaar I think, because they can take subsequent mulls after that. It's not until they hit like 3 that they have to weigh if this is better or not, and in most cases it will be because even if you whiff you get 5 cards closer to what you need where as with mulls you would not.

A deck that plays in a more traditional way may not need just one card though, it is going to depend on the combination of things they have in hand, what they know about the opponents deck. etc. There will also be causes where people keep hands with this solely because it is a green card to pitch to FOV.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@thewhitedragon69 said in [ELD] Once Upon a Time:

Keeping a hand with this as your first or second land drop, hoping to see one in the top 5, is almost always worse than just mulling. The times you use it turn 0 and wiff on a land you wanted, it will cost you games.

Keeping a bad hand has nothing to do the strength of a card, I'm unsure why that argument always comes up.

This being worse than a mulligan sorta depends on how much you have already mulliganed. Digging 5, even if you don't see a land, gets you 5 closer to a land you need. I think If ii have already mulled 2 times there are many instances where this will be better (contextual to the hand you keep) and once you have hit the 3rd mulligan you have to start thinking long and hard about the risks of mulling again at -1 vs keeping this and playing the odds.

I don't think you can judge this card by that metric though because most of the play this card get is going to be in decks that already do things that a normal deck would not do like Mulling for 1 card and not playing mana. The fact that this pitched to Force of Vigor is huge and if it was blue we would not even be having this conversation. Pitch cards as well as brainstorm, Jace, and Bazzar have made it so that the low end of a card is not nearly as relevant as what the top end of it can do.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

The art looks like the cover of every YA world build novel, or at least some trash romance nonsense.

Which is to say I like it because it is different.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

I assume many people are going to pair this with Vial for just this reason.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

0_1568924059232_e3940501-32d5-47b7-880a-ed8039431dcb-image.png

This is a novel new set of abilities. The torpor orb effect is old but the preventing death triggers is new and flying and lifeline is not awful.

It stops Thought-Knot Seer, Snapcaster Mage, Modular on Arcbound ravager, Most of hangarback walker. It hits a very relevant portion of the field.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@fsecco said in [ELD] Mystic Sanctuary:

You need another 3 islands for this to work. Are we really talking about this?

EDIT: or does it count itself? I mean, if you have a Tundra and a Volcanic in play and fetch this, does it work? That changes everything.

EDIT 2: nope. It says "three other islands". It's bad.

Fastbond builds seem like they would be most apt to abuse this.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

I was thinking Meloku the Clouded Mirror but that works too.